Posted by: Sarah | April 3, 2005

Another Amazing Sunday

Ever since the diagnosis, I have just had Amazing Sundays all over the place. One Sunday I woke up and realized that I did not fear the cancer anymore. Another Sunday (Easter Sunday, actually), I was in the car listening to a Beatles CD and Let it Be started playing just as the sun came out for the first time all day, and while listening to the lyrics, I realized I was ready to have the mastectomies.

And when the night is cloudy there is still a light that shines on me
Shine until tomorrow, let it be
I wake up to the sound of music, Mother Mary comforts me
Speaking words of wisdom, let it be
Let it be, let it be, let it be, yeah, let it be
There will be an answer, let it be

There was a fair bit of weeping (happy tears) on my part that day, I don’t mind telling you. I took “Let it Be” to mean not do nothing, but rather let what is Meant To Happen Happen, and stop fighting.

Anyway, I’ve been wondering about what today’s Amazing Sunday would be.

Molly the dog came back. I was watching last week’s Deadwood on TV while the boys had their afternoon nap and the doorbell rang. The little girl from next door was standing there and when I opened the door, she stepped aside and said “Is this your dog? She was running around our house this morning.” And it was MOLLY!

She’d been bathed and had a new flea collar put on, and she has no cuts or bruises or anything. She’s a little quieter, a little more subdued than usual, but otherwise just the same. Tom and I had to laugh because she ran away from us, another family took her in (judging by the bath and new flea collar), and then she ran away from them and came back to us.

Isn’t that amazing?

p.s. Tom is home from his ridiculously long business trip. That’s more fantastic happy stuff than amazing, but nonetheless, I’ll take it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

