Posted by: Sarah | July 23, 2005

Sleepy Cancergirl Checking In…

My sleeping patterns have gotten really messed up for a few weeks and I keep meaning to talk to the oncologist about it, but (everyone say it with me) I keep forgetting. I think that Ambien (sleeping pill) doesn’t work for me anymore; it just doesn’t put me to sleep anymore. But I don’t like taking other medications–that are intended for another purpose (like pain relief or anti-nausea) but that also cause drowsiness–so instead I have been trying to sleep naturally, and that just doesn’t work either.

Last night was terrible, sleep-wise. I didn’t take an Ambien–or anything other than my usually scheduled bedtime meds–and somehow managed to fall asleep. But I woke up at 3:30 in the morning and COULD. NOT. GET. BACK. TO. SLEEP. I ended up coming out to the playroom and loaded music onto my iPod until the boys woke up at 7 a.m. I managed to get a good nap in around mid-day, but am just dreading tonight. I’ve been waking up earlier and earlier since the chemo “wore off,” and while that means I get a lot done with the rest of the household fast asleep, it also means I get worn out *much* faster.

Tom doesn’t want me taking sleeping pills to get to sleep as he’s concerned about my becoming dependent on the pills to sleep, but I just think that during Chemo is a Different Story. If ever there was a time in my life that I needed as much sleep as possible, it’s now. I think I should ask the oncologist if maybe he can “upgrade” my sleeping pill Rx.

Also, not to do with sleep, but I did something really stupid yesterday: I cut my thumb on the pop-top of a can of soda. Arghh!! The LAST thing I need when my WBC count is so low is to cut myself.

Leave a Reply

Categories

