Posted by: Sarah | September 23, 2005

Maybe I should rest for a while instead

I am still so tired from the walk yesterday.

Last night, Tom sat me down and said I really shouldn’t rush into things; I can’t expect to be able to do things (physically) that I could do before cancer/chemo, and I have a lot of work ahead of me to get my body back. He is concerned that I’ve lost a lot of muscle tone, too.

He’s speaking from personal experience, btw…he hurt his knee really badly playing rugby in college and they had to do a major reconstruction on it…he was off his feet for six months and had another six months of physical therapy to get walking again, but he said he didn’t feel like he had full strength back for a year or more after the reconstructive surgery.

Anyhow, this is all making me think that perhaps I may not be able to do the Race for the Cure next month after all–this isn’t because they don’t allow strollers on the walk, either. I don’t know that a month is enough time to get strength back enough for that kind of walk (and it’s not as easy to drop out of a Race as it was to just stop walking all the way around campus and instead take a shortcut at yesterday’s walk at Ole Miss).

I dunno. I have to think on it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

