Posted by: Sarah | October 28, 2006

We Raced for the Cure!

It was a BEAUTIFUL day. They said that not only was it the biggest male turnout ever for the Race in Tupelo, but also the biggest turnout across-the-board for the Race. They actually ran out of pink survivor tshirts the day before, so they gave me a white shirt and promised to mail me a pink shirt later. I didn’t hear the final tally, but there was a woman there who gave a $100,000 check on the spot in memory of her sister. Can you imagine? I ended up being the #2 individual racer/fundraiser (I raised $1810 — thanks!!), but I met the #1 fundraiser (she raised $2500) and she was a total sweetheart. She has metastatic breast cancer, is in her 30s, and is also a twinmama! We talked for a long time. It was lovely.

So the running itself. Duane, Tom, and I started running together (Nancy met us and took the boys in their stroller with her walking), but after a quarter-mile, Duane pulled ahead (or Tom and I fell behind?). I think Tom and I managed to run about half a mile before we were just hurting too much to go on running that constantly (Tom said the cold air was burning our lungs). We mostly walked mile #2, but ran a good bit of mile #3, including across the finish line. Tom ran ahead of me at the very very end, so he had a total run time of 46:52 and I had a total run time of 47:02 (Duane’s was 41:something). I think they said we did the first mile in 12 minutes, btw. Not bad for my first running event EVER!

Anyhow, it was a very fun day. We’re tired, but it’s a good, accomplished kind of tired. THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

Categories

