Posted by: Sarah | March 14, 2007

My Second Diagnosiversary

Two years ago, I sat in a doctor’s office and heard him say “you’ve got breast cancer.”

Two years ago, we were terrified of what the future held for us.

Two years ago, I still had my own, God-given breasts and ovaries.

Two years ago, I was terrified of needles.

Two years ago, I had no idea what MRIs, PET scans, bone scans, or a port was.

Two years ago, I had long hair to my shoulders.

Two years ago, I had three scars: a c-section scar, a scar on the tip of my finger, and a scar on my shin.

Two years ago, I was un-tattooed.

Today I have been cancer-free for two years.

Today I am grateful to my team of caring, competent, and compassionate doctors and surgeons for going above and beyond in treating the cancer and doing whatever they could to give me a future with my family.

Today I have beautiful reconstructed breasts that I love, created by a talented and caring plastic surgeon, as well as a hugely reduced risk of ovarian cancer.

Today I am so unafraid of needles that I am planning on a career change to nursing (for more reasons than just the needles, of course).

Today I am all-too-familiar with all of these things, but they’re no longer scary or awful or things to dread.

Today I have my own hair again, not to my shoulders by any stretch, but thicker, stronger, and curlier hair.

Today I have countless scars, including a port scar, a widened c-section scar, and the slightest vestiges of a mastectomy scar.

Today I have two tattoos, both are a custom blend of Flesh #2 and Cherry Berry.

Two years down, a lifetime to go!

Leave a Reply

Categories

