Posted by: Sarah | March 14, 2008

Diagnosiversary #3

It’s hard for me to believe that it was only three years ago today that I got my breast cancer diagnosis. We didn’t know it at the time, but it turned out that I was already cancer-free at the time of the diagnosis, the lumpectomy having gotten all the nasty cancer bits out of me, even before the bilateral mastectomy and chemo got going. Nonetheless, I’ll continue to mark my Diagnosiversary and celebrate another year as a Survivor. Three years!

On a related note, the results of two separate studies were released on the eve of my Diagnosiversary (here and here), two studies that give me (and many others) hope that the Cure is really, truly, a possibility in the near future. Since we learned that I do have the breast cancer genetic mutation BRCA1 and that I may have passed it on to our sons, I have said to Tom that I feel very strongly that our sons will not have to worry about becoming the fifth generation in our family to have breast cancer, that by the time they are old enough (they must be 18 to decide) to consent to genetic testing there will be some gene therapy available to suppress the mutation from doing unpleasant cancer business. and…well, even for a non-Scientista such as myself, I feel that these new studies show that I really might not be too far off-base. Huzzah!

Responses

  1. GORGEOUS photo. And all kinds of congratulations, of course.


Leave a Reply

Categories

