Posted by: Sarah | June 26, 2008

On Travel and Being Moved

I’ve never been big on travelling.  I don’t precisely know why, I think it’s a combination of really disliking the hullaballoo and madness of traveling and just simply liking being home.  Tom is always teasing me that I am a major homebody and my response is always, “no kidding!”    Don’t get me wrong, I very much enjoyed going to Hawaii last year and of course to North Carolina, Boston, New York, Chicago, various Gulf Coast beach towns, Arizona, Wheaton, and DC to visit friends and family since we moved here 7 (SEVEN??!) years ago.  But I very very much enjoyed coming home afterwards.

But this week, a friend shared a link to an amazing video.  I’m only about three or four years too late in “discovering” this, but basically the story behind this amazing video is that this guy travelled all over the world and videotaped himself dancing wherever he went; in this latest version of the video, he is joined by locals.  Oh I can’t even begin to describe it well enough, I’ll just post the link and you watch it.

My point here is that NOW I GET IT.  Now I see why one would want to travel.  Why one would want to see such glorious places and people.  Why one would happily choose to overlook the discomforts and inconveniences of travel today.  Holy buckets.

Not only that, but I’m feeling a little like I haven’t held up my end of the bargain as a cancer survivor.  I was reading cancer blogs today and realized that three years ago at this time, I had just finished my second round of chemo.  And here I am today, three years later, cancerfree (albeit ovaryless and with osteoporosis at age 36, too), but I haven’t done much of anything to improve the world or take advantage of this time I was given.  Yes, I still plan on going to nursing school so that I can go to work at my oncologist’s and pay it forward, but nursing school won’t be happening until the boys start kindergarten, at least.  But, I, I. I don’t know.  I haven’t even stinkin’ danced on the beach in Fiji.

Responses

  1. While you may not have danced on a beach in Fiji, I wouldn’t discount all the ways you’ve made the world a better place. You’ve been open and honest and very approachable with your fight against cancer and even though I’ve known you since before, I’m sure there are others out there who have read your blog and thought, “for today, I’m going to fight.” And as you know only too well, not giving up can make all the difference in the world. So yeah, maybe you didn’t dance on a beach in Fiji, but you’ve danced in your backyard with your boys and you’ve shared that story with the world and others find YOU inspirational.

  2. How have I not seen your blog before? I swear I live in a box sometimes. Love your writing.

    Thanx for the video link. How cool is THAT? Makes me want to go out and do a jig… and I do not dance.

    Also, I highly doubt you’ve done nothing to change the world since your survivorship began. You are, after all, raising two boys and that is no small feat. If there is one thing I have taken away from cancer it is that “no man is an island”. Our lives are irrevocable intertwined; touching lives in large and small ways each and every day. Simply by virtue of the way you handled your treatment and survivorship you have influenced and changed others.

    Also, “Get busy living or get busy dying” is one of my favorite quotes from my favorite movie…

    Stella


Leave a Reply

Categories

